Matthew J. Hagenow

Managing Partner
Nicholas T Otis Newby Lewis Kaminski Jones

Our clients appreciate that we take whatever steps necessary to truly understand their business – their goals, their challenges, and their markets. So when a business dispute arises, we can respond quickly, appropriately and cost-effectively.

Phone: (219)362-1577 ext. 348


Primary Practice: Business & Corporate Practice, Real Estate, Estate & Wealth Planning

Other Practices: Litigation & Appellate


Matthew represents clients in business and real estate transactions, as well as in lawsuits involving business matters and real estate disputes. He helps clients form partnerships, corporations and limited liability companies and he routinely represents people in the purchase and sale of businesses and real estate.

He also provides estate planning to his clients, including drafting wills, trusts, powers of attorney, living wills and other advance directives, as well as probate.

An experienced litigator, Matthew tries cases before juries and judges in both state and federal courts. He represents clients before administrative agencies and handles mediations and arbitrations.

Admissions & Memberships

Matthew is admitted to practice before the United States Supreme Court, the U.S. District Courts (Northern and Southern Districts of Indiana), and all Indiana state courts. He is a member of the Indiana State Bar Association and the La Porte County Bar Association. He previously served as a district representative for the Young Lawyers Section of the ISBA. He is also a Fellow of the Indiana Bar Foundation.

Leadership & Recognition

Matthew currently serves as immediate past Chairman of the La Porte Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and is the Chairman of the Greater La Porte Economic Development Corporation (GLEDC) Board of Directors.  Additionally, Matthew is a member of the La Porte City Park Foundation Board of Directors, including as President from 2013-2015 and Vice-President from 2011-2013. He previously served as a member of the La Porte County Youth Service Bureau Board of Directors, including as President in 2003 and Vice-President in 2002.


University of Notre Dame (B.S., J.D., cum laude).